it’s 2014 yo

I’m not one for New Years Resolutions – mostly, because I believe in daily resolutions.

I like believing that today I can change something I couldn’t yesterday, without waiting for the end of a year.  Maybe it reminds me that every day calls for me being strong.

Anyways, saying goodbye to 2013 is bittersweet.

Some of my closest friends would agree in saying, I have not gone a year without some major change or challenge.  Very true, I don’t disagree.  However, looking back… I would definitely say, 2013 was a year of deep change and challenge moving toward healing.

Lots of things happened in 2013:

  • First year of post-grad blues
  • I moved forward from feeling heart-broken
  • Obtained a leadership job
  • Proved to myself and others that I have a voice
  • Spread my roots to becoming self-dependant
  • I learned how to take steps of loving myself better

Okay I will confess, I think of 2013 in regards to 2012…however, 2013 was a result of 2012.

(Whatever, it all makes sense in my head, okay?)

The point is I am letting go of 2013 with a bittersweet heart.  It seems like each new year promises grandeur.  An endless list of possibilities.  When 2013 began, I didn’t feel like I had a place of my own.  I felt unsettled by the notion of the future and had no idea what my next steps would be or where I would go.

I am happy to say this is not true for 2014.  I have plans and goals and wishes for this year.  I am so excited for what is to come.

I am excited to see how I continue to grow in my current job.  I am not naive to expect an easy run but I am looking forward to what God does through me.  I also cannot wait to see what I learn from going back to studies.  In the last month, it’s become all too clear to me that I want to pursue further studies.  For a while now, I’ve been struggling with what I’d like to study.  What would fuel my heart, my passions and my life?  I’ve discovered a subject that I’ve often given a blind eye to because so much could follow.  Anyways.  I don’t know if 2014 is the year I begin further studies, but today, I know what I want to pursue and what I don’t.

And I guess, that’s all I can ask for.

Lastly, as this new year has started, I feel strong.  A sense I have not felt with the passing of other years.  Yes, other years, came when I wasn’t ready for them.  But today, I feel ready for 2014.  Today, I know who I am and to me, that’s all that really matters.

Today, I am very joyful.

Leave a Reply

