a thankful daughter

mday

I have a beautiful mamma.  I really do.

She is so wonderful.  Over the course of my life, I haven’t been the easiest of daughter’s.  She’s angered me and I have angered her, but I love her dearly.  I would never change her for an other living soul, as my mother.

She’s Greek with a strong and loud character.  You know if she’s around.  Her favorite thing in life is to tease others.  It’s a strange phenomenon when people don’t like her because EVERYONE loves her.  She embodies a personality of life and knows how to bring excitement to a dying party.  Her thought process is without a filter and she’s the cutest when she scowls me in English.

I may not always show my love to her in the best way, but I do love her.

She reminds me not to let my melancholic thoughts take the best of me.  She’s the best encourager and never fails to give me a positive spin when I need it most.  She’s selfless in relation to her family and gives her heart for those she loves.

Today is Mother’s Day and unfortunately, I am not near her to celebrate her.  However, distance makes my heart grow fonder and learn to love her better.

And so, I say to you, celebrate your mother on this special day!  If you’re near her take the opportunity to show her how much you value her.  Do something special.  Yes, you might feel aggravated by your mother, but leave it aside during this day of recognition.  After all, she gave birth to you – she has the right to drive you crazy…. Well, not true, but maybe for a day!

If nothing else, get her flowers, give her a hug and kiss her on the cheek.

Happy Mother’s Day to all you beautiful mothers!!!

Leave a Reply

