greek

Over a month ago, I asked people on Facebook (and here) to give me an idea / phrase without telling them the reason.  Secretly, I was planning on using their random thoughts as writing props.

I’ve been calling these props challenges.  I’m on my eight and find my topic rather difficult.

The word I have is greek.

You would think it’d be the easier considering I am half Greek and I am currently living in Greece.  However, it’s hard to think and look at this word in an unbiased way.  I don’t know how to approach it.  Mostly, I don’t want to say or write anything cliché.

—-

Those of us who try to explain it and who say,
this is as things are 
are false.

You cannot expect from yourself a truth
about a place of origin
when you can’t even answer the question,
what is it like? without asking a million questions to answer one.

I would be a liar to say, this is Greek because
of the defining traits.

A culture is more than norms and habits,
superstition and belief that Mother Mary saves –
it’s the people.

Leave a Reply

