first homemade cookie mix

1 teaspoon does not equal to 1 tablespoon.

My goal today was to make yummy chocolate chip cookies.  In the last couple years, I’ve taken up cooking and now recently, have decided to bake.  I don’t think I’m a natural talent but each time I’m the one to prepare something, I find myself in a state of soothing.

Everything was going fine until I finished the mix and took a sample.

It was so nasty, I found myself devastated immediately.

So I did what any reasonable new baker would do – I went on google.  The first result I found was to double all the ingredients.

Quickly and with every desire to make a fast fix, I put tons of more sugar in.  Then some flour and vanilla.  Only to realize I need more eggs but had not.

My coat was on seconds after the realization.  Thank goodness there’s a mini grocery store about 200 yards away.

With two new eggs my hope begin to rise.  I mixed it all up again and took a taste.  I’m pretty sure it somehow got worse.  Naturally, I added cinnamon because of course the only way to draw out the bitter taste is to add a sweeter one.

“Mom help me!”  I begged, but she didn’t know what to do as much as myself.

Google again.

New discovering.

Add slices of potatoes in the mix in order for it to suck up all the salt!  Perfect.

I looked for potatoes and we had none.  Thank goodness that the mini grocery store is so near by.  I sent my cousin and then chopped two potatoes and put them in.

Mom went to church.  My cousin and I watched How I Met Your Mother in her absence.

The potatoes sat in the mix for at least an hour.

My mom returned and gave me the green light on the cookie dough.  I didn’t dare taste it again, I still couldn’t get that bitter taste out of my mouth.

In the end, I baked it as a big long rectangle cookie.

Only to realize my mistake was:
Instead of a) 1/2 teaspoon of salt, I believe I either added 1/2 or 1/4 cup of salt; b) 1 teaspoon of baking soda, I added 1 tablespoon; and c) 2 1/4 cups of flour, I added 1 1/4 cups of flour.

I’m trying the recipe again tomorrow.  I suppose everyone has to start somewhere – I was bound to get something wrong on my first go!

Leave a Reply

