oh jerusalem

on the far left is part of Mt. Zion – the right, part of the city.

Praise the Lord, O Jerusalem!
Praise your God, O Zion!

For he strengthens the bars
of your gates;
he blesses your children within you.

Psalm 147:12 ESV

Life has a tendency, to place me within the unexpected.  I speak of life – in the realm of believing my life is guided by my Father in Heaven.  Father to the Son, who came and died on a cross.  For my sin.  He rose, however, from the tomb he had laid.  Three days after.  He came forth and continues to live forever more.  For now, He rests in the Kingdom, waiting for His day of return.  Refusing to leave me alone during this time of waiting, He sent His Holy Spirit – His very presence – to live within me.  To lead and guide me.  To help and encourage.  My Jesus sent me a Helper.

Today, I realized what I had not earlier in the week.   On Wednesday, my feet climbed mount Zion.  I walked up, frustrated by the heat of the sun and the dryness around me.  My shock of the present heat-wave hit me by surprise.  I responded to my ‘-out-of-comfort-zone’ experience negatively.  I don’t promise it will change.  However, now I realize what I had not them.

Truth be told, I don’t feel as if I deserve to see or even step on mount Zion.

This trip has overwhelmed me.

And perhaps, that’s why the negativity arose.

Israel is a country you only dream of visiting.  It’s so far out there.  Huge and marvelous.  Different and mighty.  In my mind, outside of my grasp.  Frankly, I don’t think I’ve processed that I am here.  Right now.  It’s just a land, like any other.  But it’s not.  It’s silly to think it is.  Gosh.  It’s all so confusing.

And so the story goes…

Perhaps, my feelings of insecurity about where I go and what I do are silliness.  For I flatter myself into believing that just because my mind revolves around myself, that others do as well.  Meanwhile, in the end, it’s about Jesus.

In the end, life is about Him.  Always.

Leave a Reply

