as years spin over

Life is flimsy and weird – but each day I realize,
I’m very proud of you.
Over the years, I’ve seen you grow and of course
there have been times of true maturity and others of not.
However, when your body went under
that water, I couldn’t help myself, but feel proud.
Not only because you’ve grown up into a man –
all your family can be astonished by – but rather,
you’re becoming a man with heart.
The bubble baths,
the playing with dolls,
the Harry Potter-playing-school days,
may have passed and you may
be taller than me now, but those three short years
I surpass you by will always seem longer.
For you are my little cousin, brother
and watching you grow up makes me happy more than you’ll ever know.

Leave a Reply

