make sure you fix the pillows too

I tugged my shirt off my back – several times.  My hope was to breeze out the accumulating sweat.  A very wishful desire.  I was now very self-conscious of my possible oder and unhappy with the stickiness around my arms.

Ten minutes ago, I had been dry.

In fact, if anyone would have asked, I would have told them I was feeling confidant.  Waitressing isn’t as difficult as I may have built it up to be.

But now, my feet were hurting, my back wasn’t far off and my trainer made my heart race – in the worse possible way.

About three inches taller, two years younger I found out quickly I wasn’t too fond of him.  I’m sure the poor kid is nice and easy going, but good with words well, he is not.  He barks his orders and has little perception of the uneasiness he might cause to another.

“I didn’t like him at first either,” Nena said.  I like her.  She’s the barista I got to work with today.  Apparently, she’ll only be around on weekends, which means, if I do work during the week I probably won’t work with her.

At the age of 23, she’s living with her younger brother in the city and studying medicine.  People going into the medical field are impressive.  Not sure I would ever be able to memorize all the terms she has to.  Nena is very similar to me.  She’s a half and half girl.  Her mom’s American and her dad’s Greek – recently, I’ve been meeting many of those.  Half-breed.

“However, when Apostolis and I finally worked together, I realized we have the same humor.  So now, we get along really well.  I even told him that I didn’t like him at first!”  She said, as a small gasp of laugher slipped out of her lips.

At least, I’m not the only one…. I thought to myself, rather pleased.

“I just–” I began, as Nena washed used glasses, my mind returning to earlier.

“Fix the table,” he said, and I stared.

I turned and looked at the table.  I saw nothing wrong.  What did he mean?  So I turned his way again.

“What?”  Slipped out of my lips.

“See how that one is over there?  Do the same, with the chairs.”

“Oooohhhhhh,” I let out stupidly.  Should have noticed.  The pillow-box-chairs were resting under the table.

Quickly, I turned toward the table and pushed the seats in.  Making sure everything was in order I turned his way, ready to take the seat next to him.  Expecting to be taught more.

“The pillows too,” he said and I turned once more.

Heat rose to my cheeks and I rearranged the pillows.  Personally, I thought they were fine.

Once I was done, I turned, his eyes on me.

“They good?”  I asked, mostly because I was completely unsure of how the pillows should have been.

He didn’t hear me at first, so I repeated myself.

Apostolis nodded his head.

He spoke again and I answered, but my mind was absent.  I just wanted to flee from his presence and luckily, new customers came in that very moment.  I went to get water.  Sure tears were ready to pour out of my eyes.  His pestering look and words made me feel stupid – childish.  I wanted to hide.  The bathroom sounded nice, but I knew there was no time.  Plus, hopefully, he would be leaving soon.

This is no time to cry, I scolded myself.  Adults don’t cry.  Not because of an annoying trainer.  Or how his words might have made me feel.  All in all, I didn’t want to seem weak or young before his eyes.

Funny, I think I would have acted differently if I had known I was older than him from the start.  He looked older, so I assumed he was.  As a dynamic character, I assumed his words were harsh purposely, while quietly I knew they were not.

I suppose being a waitress can only get easier from now on.

2 thoughts on “make sure you fix the pillows too

  1. I like this. I like how you present the characters, they seemed interesting, and they reflected more about you. Your trainer sounds like a jerk. You gave him a break though: “I’m sure he’s nice and easy going….” doubt it. Ha. Are the readers supposed to like this guy? He almost made you cry…

    • Thank you:) I confess, I don’t always think about my readers. However, I do want them to feel my emotion; therefore, until he redeems my first impression of him, I’m okay with the readers not liking him.

Leave a Reply

