my cat psipsina

The most delicate of them all…
she fit in the pocket of a rob
and played fiercely with mom’s dried leaves
which we were not supposed to give her.
We taught her to climb up the stairs of our bunk-beds
and when she got older we even baptized her.
She was my favorite baby, wrapped in a towel
(I didn’t want her to escape, you see.)
In the freezer she’d go, for two seconds, because I wanted to snuggle
and in the closet when she didn’t do as I said.
Like a baby, I’d hold her – head on my shoulder and legs around my waist.
She would whine, but whining only edged me on–
I wanted her attention!  Her love.
My sweet baby.

she sure knows how to stretch.

Leave a Reply

