the choice to act

I’ve always considered myself shy.

I’ve been the quiet girl in room.  I’ve been the one unable to formulate a thought fast enough.  I’ve been that awkward person who doesn’t know what to say.  I’ve been a loner in my own ways.  I’ve been so caught up in myself to even consider another.  I’ve been and I’ve been and I won’t always be.

If you were to ask me about my school, I’d tell you it’s fine.  I wouldn’t say it’s my favorite nor a place I’ve always wanted to be.  (In fact, each year when I’ve returned for my academic year, I haven’t wanted to be here.  I’ve despised the idea of coming back.  Such a small town, with no place to really go.  Coffee shops close at 7pm.  Really?)

I may dislike it for many different reasons, but I will remind myself to be thankful.

Without this Four-Year Time, I would not be who I am today.  (And I really like who I am today.)

I will always be grateful for knowing this school was a place I began to act.  People get so caught up in words and saying what they want to do, but never do them.  I want to be a person of action.  In so many ways.

I’m challenging myself to take steps I’ve never before.

Maybe I’ll mention them when they come.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

