saying ‘hi’

I was pleasantly surprised, when I heard a soft voice say, “Hi.”

My eyes scanned the parking lot looking for the source of the sound.  The voice has been a child’s, a higher pitch sound of joy.  I looked right, then left, and finally forward.  I saw the figure of a little child – my guess of a boy – pressing himself on the inside of the screen door of his home.  I smiled, then waved.  I was far and could barely see him.

I wondered how he had seen me.  I waved again.  “Hi.”  His voice echoed around the parking lot again, I smiled.  “Hi,” I told him in response and waved again.

He kept saying ‘hi;’ while I waved in response.

“Bye,” I told him eventually with a wave when I came close to my car.  Pulling out my keys.  I got in, put the car into drive, passed the house–but the boy was gone.  Somehow he had appeared out of no where, made my day, and then disappeared.

 

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

