streams of living water

I never in a million years thought I would like Ted Dekker.

I remember in my early teens when Black, Red, and White came out.  I always had this belief, Dekker’s books were not for me.  No, I was a Christian Fiction (Romance, basically) kind of girl.  I hated scary movies and anything that would keep me up at night.  And if I had to watch something scary, I would make Kali sleep with me.  I would do everything in my power to convince her to sleep with me.  For the most part I succeeded.  She was definitely a trooper.

Dekker’s books Monster and Three were more than enough, to keep me away from them.  I would like to say, I have grown up now.  At times, scary movies still scare me, but not so much anymore.  And the nights I do get scared are because I allow myself to.  I let God promise slip my mind.  In all reality, I decide I’m afraid and don’t  stop believing it.  Regardless if it’s true or not.  It scarcely happens, however.

I’ve come to find myself not interested in Christian Romance Fiction anymore.  Dekker’s trilogy has a love story in it, of course, but it’s not what I am interested in while reading.  I find myself more wanting to know how the books ends and how Thomas changes the world, than about his love story with Rachelle.  Besides, they romance since slightly unrealistic, but that is alright.  Neither act, as I would expect.  The odd other world of Black, Red, and White.

In the trilogy, so much of it is surrounded by the water.  In the majority of the first book, the water is what continually heals Thomas.  In the water, he experiences a life changing moment with who is perceived to be God in the other world.  Then, in the second book, the water is what keep the decease under control.  The people in the forest live because of the water.  It cleanses them.  Streams of living water.  So very interesting.

Anyways… I just bought three books by C. S. Lewis.  I think I very much want to read.  Mere Christianity, The Great Divorce, and The Screwtape Letters.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

